Lync Server 2013 Control Panel – HTTP Error 401.1 – Unauthorized‏

I installed my first Lync Server 2013.  Did not have any issues with setup and was pretty happy.

The problem started when I tried to open Lync Server 2013 Control Panel.  It would not accept my password.  After three tries, it would give me the “HTTP Error 401.1 – Unauthorized‏” error.

While I was searching for the fix on the Internet, I saw many people having the same issue.  I spent some time searching and I was able to fix this issue.  This is the summary of everything I had to do:

First of all, check that your account is a member of CSAdministrator and  CSUserAdministrator group. If not, add your account and try to access Lync Control Panel.  If it still does not work, keep reading.

Open IIS Manager, go to Sites.  You will see Lync Server External Web Site and Lync Server Internal Web Site.  You need to expand Lync Server Internal Web Site.  Click on cscp and double click on Authentication in the middle under the IIS section.  Windows Authentication should be enabled.  Click on it and you will see the Providers… link on the right side under Actions.  Click on Providers.. link.  Move NTML providers on the top of the list.

That’s it. That is all you have to do.

7 thoughts on “Lync Server 2013 Control Panel – HTTP Error 401.1 – Unauthorized‏

Leave a Reply

